I’m no country boy, but…

So last night Susan and I eat supper out and get groceries together. Not very exciting for most people but in our house – with six kids (four still at home) – it’s a big deal!

Susan takes one kid each week to do groceries so that they get some one-on-one time. They pick where they want to eat and what sugar cereal they want for Saturday morning. But every once in a blue moon I get to go.

Susan was impressed with how little I added to the cart beyond what was on her list – a guy thing she says - and we were making good time getting home. We were only a mile from our house when we pass a friend’s farm and notice a young calf on the wrong side of the fence.

I’m no country boy but even I knew this was not a good scenario, especially with the calf so close to a busy road. We check at the house… no one home. So we call their son and kept an eye on the youngling.

When Matt got there the calf was near a gate so he opened it to let him in. The calf eventually did go in but before doing so got spooked and ran head-first into the fence as hard as he could… more than once!

Why would the young calf do such a foolish thing? It panicked! It freaked out!

I do that same thing sometimes. A situation in life looks hopeless or overwhelming and I give in to feeling all alone. I panic! I freak out! I forget that God is still present, still in control, and good beyond what I can fully comprehend. I forget…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take. ~ Proverbs 3:5-6 (NLT)

With ALL your heart! With every fiber of your being! In every waking moment!

What is it you’re facing right now that you need to trust God about? And who do yo know that needs this same encouragement?

5 Comments

Filed under Animals, Encouragement, Faith, Fear, Trusting God

5 responses to “I’m no country boy, but…

  1. darla

    WOW! God is SO TIMELY! THANK YOU! THANK YOU! THANK YOU FOR THIS MESSAGE. I NEEDED IT SOOOOOOOOOO MUCH!

  2. Rob Doty

    you should be careful rick , running into a fence head first to many times and you will not have any hair left. but i do it all to often.

  3. Pingback: Thanks for sharing the journey! « iLife Journey

Leave a Reply

