Oh, crap!

Manure, a field in Randers in Denmark

Image via Wikipedia

Oh, crap! No, really! It’s crap. Manure. Dung. Poo. There is a huge pile of it behind our barn. How did we get stuck with it? We asked for it. That’s right. It’s the first time in my life that I actually asked for crap but I did, and we got it. (Thanks Jeff!)

No, I’m not off my rocker and it’s not some sort of new money-making scheme. It’s an attempt at making some compost.

Manure generates heat as it decomposes. Pile it high enough and it can create enough heat to spontaneously combust! No worries, my pile isn’t that big. But it generates enough heat to actually burn the grass it’s covering. But when you mix it with other organic materials like food scraps and grass clippings and leaves, it actually turns into a very fertile substance that can be used on gardens or around trees and shrubs as a natural nutrient.

Life is sort of that way too isn’t it. Situations come at us that leave us feeling like we’ve just had a pile of poo dumped all over us. We all get hit with it from time to time. That’s just life in an imperfect world. But how we respond makes ALL the difference.

We can just let it cover us and get burned by the heat it generates as it decomposes – not a pretty picture I know. Or we can invite God into the mix and let Him transform it into an opportunity for us to grow.

There’s more to come: We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue, keeping us alert for whatever God will do next. In alert expectancy such as this, we’re never left feeling shortchanged. Quite the contrary—we can’t round up enough containers to hold everything God generously pours into our lives through the Holy Spirit! ~ Romans 5:3-5 (Message)

No matter what we are facing or what comes at us this week, we can choose to invite God into the mix and let Him use it for our growth and his glory. And feel free to remind me of this the next time I grumble about the latest poo that comes my way.

5 Comments

Filed under Determination, Encouragement, Holy Spirit, Morphing

5 responses to “Oh, crap!

  1. Connie

    Thanks, Rick!
    I’ve been feeling like I’ve just had a pile of poo dumped all over me. Really trying to let God work me through it but it’s tough. Then there’s Brynden being thrown right at me. 🙂 How can anything I not smile when I see that smiling face. Thanks for showing me answered prayers.
    Love ya

  2. Connie

    OK so I didn’t check it before I pushed send! AGAIN! Jst take out the word anything!

  3. Wendy Brook

    Parable of the seeds chapter two 🙂

Leave a Reply

