Not what I was expecting!

Yesterday Susan and I celebrated 27 years of being married. We ran some errands together, went out to lunch, walked a few antique shops in H’town, shopped in Muncie, met her parents for supper and then came back to Richmond for a movie. None of it was spectacular or would get listed on the wall of a visitors bureau but just being together with your best friend makes any activity special.

The same is true of our relationship with God. It doesn’t have to include anything real spectacular; just hanging out together as you go about the normal routines of life. He delights so much in us as His children that any ordinary activity is special to Him when we live it in the awareness of His presence.

As I reflect on 27 years of marriage I have to say that it is not what I was expecting. I expected more bliss and less struggle. I expected more warm, fuzzy moments and not so many tension filled moments. I expected the honeymoon to last longer!

And yet, while it was not what I was expecting I’m not disappointed and wouldn’t trade any of it for all the wealth in the world. The times we’ve struggled – and there have been plenty – only served to help us mature and grow stronger. There were times when one or both of us was ready to throw in the towel but didn’t; and on the other side of the struggle we experienced even closer intimacy.

In 32 years of walking with Jesus I would have to admit the same thing – it was not what I was expecting. To be honest, I didn’t realize I had so much learning and growing up to do. It has been challenging in ways that I never expected and usually bristle at, but it has been an amazing adventure and I am so grateful to God for His faithfulness and loyalty even when I prove not to be.

Thank You Lord for delighting in us and inviting us into Your story!

Leave a comment

Filed under intimacy with the Lord, Marriage

Leave a Reply

