What makes you want to boast?

We’ve all been around windbags who bragged about themselves but not all boasting is bad. Sometime we boast about our kids or our favorite sports team or the completion of a recent home project or even our newest grandbaby. There are lots of good reasons to boast. What makes you want to boast?

A few days ago I read an article about Francis Chan and how he had recently spoken to some 13,000 people gathered at a conference. One of his questions to that audience challenged me. It was, “When was the last time you boasted about the Lord?” I had to stop and think about it.

 23 This is what the LORD says:
       “Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom
       or the strong man boast of his strength
       or the rich man boast of his riches,

 24 but let him who boasts boast about this:
       that he understands and knows me,
       that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness,
       justice and righteousness on earth,
       for in these I delight,”
       declares the LORD.

~ Jeremiah 9:23-24

1 Comment

Filed under influence with the world, intimacy with the Lord, involvement with the church, Scripture

One response to “What makes you want to boast?

  1. Gal 6:14 “But God forbid that I should boast, except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by Whom the world is crucified unto me and I unto the world”

    Or to use the words of Stuart Townend from his song How Deep the Father’s Love for Us –

    I will not boast in anything;
    No gifts, no power, no wisdom.
    But I will boast in Jesus Christ,
    His death and resurrection.

Leave a Reply

