No trophies on display here!

As much as I enjoy vegging out to football it wasn’t the kind of show I usually watch, but there was little else on so I decided to check it out. I’m referring to NFL’s Top 100 players of all time – 2010 edition. Turns out, it was rather interesting.

One of my favorite parts about watching the Olympics is learning the background stories of those participating and that’s what this NFL show turned out to be about. Along with ranking the players it went into great detail about not only their careers but about the man as a person.

One of the little tidbits of background information that jumped out at me had to do with Tom Brady; quarterback of the New England Patriots.  He finished #21 on the list and has many trophies to document all that he has accomplished… so far.

What I find very interesting is that Tom Brady does not display any of those trophies in his house! Why? Because he constantly lives with the mentality that there is still more to accomplish. How can you not admire that kind of determination? Reminds me of another guy named Paul who lived a couple thousand years ago.

I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, so that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the dead! I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” ~ Philippians 3:10-14

Few people, if any, can rival Paul for the astonishing feats accomplished for God’s kingdom. And of all that Paul pursued, an intimate relationship with Jesus is what mattered most; what fueled his determination to further God’s kingdom. But Paul was determined to keep moving forward.

What remains for us to accomplish as part of God’s unfolding plan and are we determined to keep moving forward?

1 Comment

Filed under Determination, influence with the world, intimacy with the Lord

One response to “No trophies on display here!

  1. I appreciated this post. It is so easy to sit back and rest on past achievements, especially when God has achieved so much through one’s life – but as Wesley said “The best is yet to be” God hasn’t finished. I wonder what the next challenge will be?

Leave a Reply

