Playing “slug bug” and spotting God

Punch Buggy, Orange!

Image by chrismar via Flickr

A couple of days ago I was taking Mykaela to the doctor for a physical so that she could play school sports – she LOVES softball and is a very good pitcher. It wasn’t a long trip but by the time we got back to school my arm was sore from playing “slug bug.” (I’ve also heard people use the term “punch bug.”)

In case you’re not familiar with the game it involves being the first one to notice a VW Beatle on the road or in a parking lot. The first person to see it yells “slug bug ________ (color of the car)” and gets to hit someone else in the vehicle.

Since Mykaela and I were the only ones in the car the decision on who to hit was relatively simple! And while I used the excuse of needing to watch the road to drive; the truth is that she creamed me by spotting about 6 more “slug bugs.” Hence, my sore arm.

In the middle of our trip, and our game, a thought struck me. I commented to Mykaela that if we were as intent on looking for God as we are for spotting “bugs” we’d learn to be much more aware of His presence everywhere we go. Meister Eckhart made this observation…

The reason we are not able to see God is the faintness of our desire.

Mykaela’s eyesight is very good, better than mine. And she didn’t have to watch the road like I did. But the bottom line is that she had a greater desire to spot the “bugs.”

I don’t know about you but I want and need to be more aware of God’s presence. Sometimes because I feel overwhelmed by certain events in life and sometimes just because I long to be loved; to feel the security of His fatherly arms wrapped around me.

Let’s look for God today to spot Him in a smile, a hug, a laugh, a ray of sunshine, an encouraging word, a door being held for someone …

And when we spot God let’s thank Him for being with us and then find a way to share this with a friend. Maybe they need help or encouragement to see God in the midst of their activities too!

Happy hunting!

Leave a comment

Filed under Desire, Determination, Encouragement, intimacy with the Lord, Love of God, Loving others

Leave a Reply

