It’s not over til it’s over!

So if you read my blog from yesterday  – On the wrestling mat with God – which version did you read?

“What? There were different versions?”

Yes, but only slightly.

I schedule my blog to post at 6:45 a.m. every morning. No, I don’t get up early to write it or post it. I am more of a late night guy than an early riser. But once I am up and around I jump online to make sure it posted like it was supposed to.

Yesterday as I was checking the post and rereading it I decided to edit one sentence and change the picture. So if you read the blog after 9:00 a.m. you saw the most recent update. I don’t do this on a regular basis. In fact, other than occasionally jumping on to correct a spelling error I missed its the first time I recall doing this. But this ongoing editing mirrors life.

There are many times when I consider a life situation or a relationship as “final” meaning there is not much I can do to affect or influence it in a positive manner. But as long as we have breath in our lungs it’s not over. There is still time! The paint isn’t dry! The cement isn’t set up! And that encourages me with life and with my walk with God.

I can get fairly discouraged with my lack of progress in becoming more like Jesus. Lately, I’ve become aware of some anger issues just barely hiding beneath the surface. But my life is a chapter in God’s story that is still being written, still being edited. He’s not done tweaking me or making the necessary changes that will enable me to enjoy greater intimacy with Him and better reflect His glory in how I do life.

What situation or relationship have you written off as “final?” Be encouraged and don’t give up yet!

It’s not over til it’s over!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Encouragement, intimacy with the Lord, Life in General, Morphing

2 responses to “It’s not over til it’s over!

  1. >> I can get fairly discouraged with my lack of progress in becoming more like Jesus.

    Can’t we all?
    I make it a regular practice to look backwards and thankfully I can see progress. Sure, we hit some bumps or obstacles or even a downward slide, but a graph shows we ARE progressing towards the goal. Of course, we recognise that this isn’t OUR achievement and thank God for His work IN us!

    Quote from Mr Anon: “If you’ve ever been closer to the Lord than you are at this moment, you are a backslider” (in a sense it is true, but it isn’t the whole story)

    • A little book by Mike Yaconelli (sp?) called Messy Spirituality helped me begin to wrestle with this as Mike described our spiritual journey as more of a roller coaster than a steadily increasing diagonal line on a chart. The longer I live and walk with Jesus the more I can relate to the unsteady rhythm of growth. As you said, we’re not the project manager – God is! Thankfully!

Leave a Reply

