His name is Counselor

For unto us a child is born, unto us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. ~ Isaiah 9:6

In terms of counsel or advice there is perhaps no one more popular that Pauline Phillips; better known as “Dear Abby.” She dealt with a wide range of issues both serious and humorous; here are a few of the later.

Dear Abby, I have always wanted to have my family history traced, but I can’t afford to spend a lot of money to do it. Any suggestions? Sam

Dear Sam, Yes. Run for public office.

Dear Abby, I am forty-four years old and I would like to meet a man my age with no bad habits. Rose

Dear Rose, So would I.

Dear Abby, Are birth control pills deductible? Kay

Dear Kay, Only if they don’t work.

I enjoy gleaning advice from a variety of human sources, but nobody gives counsel like our God!

You guide me with your counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory. ~ Psalm 73:24

One key stumbling block in receiving God’s counsel is that our priorities usually differ from His. We want advice on how to make our lives easier while God wants to counsel us on how to respond in holiness to any situation so that we can further His kingdom agenda and maintain fellowship with Him.

What are you currently seeking God’s counsel for but more importantly why?

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Christmas, Jesus, Kingdom of God, Life in General

Leave a Reply

