Why are you looking there?

Ever gone to a large department store and not been able to find something? I’ve been there lots of times. Back and forth… first one area then another. When I finally give in and ask for help I usually learn that it was not there because it is kept some place else. (Heavy sigh!)

If you only look where it’s not then you’ll never find where it is!

I know! I know! Profound insight! (Pause for sense of awe – haha)

I think that’s why so few people in this life every experience real, lasting satisfaction. Because we tend to look for it in places that it can’t be found. God alone is the source of genuine satisfaction. The author of Psalm 145:16 declares…

You open your hand and satisfy the desires of every living thing.

In The Message, Eugene Peterson phrases it this way…

Generous to a fault, you lavish your favor on all creatures.

The reason we bounce up and down and here and there and back and forth always looking for the next hint of something or someone that will leave us feeling satisfied is because we’re looking where it can’t be found. Only God can satisfy the deepest cravings of our soul!

Where are you looking?

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Desire, intimacy with the Lord

4 responses to “Why are you looking there?

  1. leeleegirl4

    Great post

  2. I spent soooooooo many years searching for satisfaction. So many times I thought I had found it, but it soon faded and the search was on again. The pleasures of the world satisfy for but a short time and usually bring sorrow alongside.

    Since accepting Christ as my Saviour and Lord 52 years ago, the satisfaction in HIM has never faded. Certainly at times I go my own way and lose the JOY of that satisfaction, but He is always there and He is always at work to bring me back to Himself.

    From Mr Anon: Christ sends none away empty – except those who are filled with self.

Leave a Reply

