OK… it matters!

A Vekoma Boomerang roller coaster at Wild Adve...

Image via Wikipedia

When I began to blog a little over a year ago I did it with open expectations. I really didn’t know what would come of it and told myself that it didn’t matter how many people joined me on the journey.

OK… it matters!

The number of views to my blog has been somewhat like a roller coaster at times but usually averages out to be about 40 views a day or roughly around 280 views a week. To be perfectly honest I have no idea how this compares to other blogs or what the norm might be if there even is such a thing.

Last week when the number of views shot up drastically and finished at over 400 for the week it caught my attention. I was initially very excited and encouraged. I wondered if people were telling others about them or posting my blogs elsewhere.

But then I struggled with feeling like it shouldn’t matter how many read my blog. Perhaps it is vain to pay attention to such things. I even began to feel a bit of pressure to keep it up, though I didn’t know what I’d done different.

Then it dawned on me that viewing a blog is really just listening; and we all like it when people listen to what we have to say. When people pay attention to us it leaves us feeling significant and valuable.

There is incredible power in the simple act of listening. It has the potential to lift up or tear down a person’s spirit. God wired us in such a way that we all want to know that we matter, that we have something to contribute to the conversation of life. Perhaps that’s one reason why James says:

My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry… ~ James 1:19

Did you catch that? Quick to listen! Two ears… one mouth… I see a pattern here!

Today, you and I can powerfully influence another human being. We don’t need unlimited financial resources or superhuman strength or phenomenal skills. All we have to do is… listen!

Let’s pay attention to those we are with today. It really does matter!

9 Comments

Filed under Blogging, influence with the world, Loving others

9 responses to “OK… it matters!

  1. Nate Logston

    love this one rick!

    • Thanks Nate! About 3/4 of the way through writing this one you actually came to mind because of our recent conversations about what a challenge it is to “be in the moment.” I’m glad I’m not the only one who struggles with this! 🙂

  2. Leslie

    How true! I love your blog because not only do we listen to you, but you listen to us, as well. Dialog that is God-centered. How much better can you get?

  3. Kurt Alexander

    I’m listening bro! I’m working in cooperation with the Holy Spirit to improve my listening to the blog AND taking the time to really listen to others. I’m working on the “too busy” syndrome 🙂 Thanks, Rick.

  4. Yes, it does matter. I wonder how many of us would continue if we never had responses. Our motive for being here isn’t (or shouldn’t be) personal pride. Our motive is (or should be) ministry – and that matters. We DO like to see fruit for our labour.

    As a counsellor I know the benefits of “just listening” so I agree that as we relate to others here and in our daily lives (and especially in our families) we need to LISTEN – and appreciate when others listen to us.

Leave a Reply

