Jackpot!

No, I didn’t win the lottery and I haven’t been playing a one-armed-bandit. I’m talking about the special little prizes you get from certain cereal boxes!

I was with Susan and Kyrsten the other day picking up some groceries when we walked down the cereal aisle and there it was – a box advertising the “Secret Decoder!”

Do you remember being a kid and getting excited about digging the prize out of the box? I do! Long before I was ready to eat the cereal I was quick to dig into the box for that special treasure. They also came in boxes of Cracker Jack! Life was sweet when you hit the jackpot!

Funny how age and experience can change our perspective. How could I possible have gotten so excited over a silly trinket that surely cost less than a nickel?

I believe that a day is coming when we will look back on all that this world highly prizes and wonder the same thing: What was I so excited about? Why did I give all my attention to that? What was I thinking?

Everything that this world treasures: earthly possessions, worldly fame, vast wealth, passing pleasures… even a treasured Super Bowl Championship, will one day be nothing but dust.

Do not love this world nor the things it offers you, for when you love the world, you do not have the love of the Father in you. For the world offers only a craving for physical pleasure, a craving for everything we see, and pride in our achievements and possessions. These are not from the Father, but are from this world. And this world is fading away, along with everything that people crave. But anyone who does what pleases God will live forever. ~ 1 John 2:15-17

The real jackpot comes when we choose to love God above everything else!

4 Comments

Filed under intimacy with the Lord, Loving God

4 responses to “Jackpot!

  1. Kurt Alexander

    Wow! Nicely said, my friend. God helped you bring home the truth in a way in which everyone can relate. If you don’t mind, I’d like to share it 🙂

  2. Another great blog from life experiences.

    The last sentence says it all – we have the biggest ever jackpot – the one with the greatest IMMEDIATE reward AND a CONTINUING reward AND one that will NEVER fade, rust or decay – an ETERNAL reward.

Leave a Reply

