Hump Day Humor ;-)

A paraprosdokian is a figure of speech in which the latter part of a sentence or phrase is surprising or unexpected in a way that causes the reader or listener to reframe or reinterpret the first part. It is frequently used for humorous or dramatic effect. Here are some examples…

  • He was at his best when the going was good.
  • If I am reading this graph correctly—I’d be very surprised.
  • I’ve had a perfectly wonderful evening, but this wasn’t it.
  • He was a modest man, who had much to be modest about.
  • I haven’t slept for two weeks, because that would be too long.
  • Do not argue with an idiot. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.
  • I want to die peacefully in my sleep, like my grandfather. Not screaming and yelling like the passengers in his car.
  • You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
  • To be sure of hitting the target, shoot first and call whatever you hit the target.

Got a favorite one of your own to share? Leave it as a comment.

6 Comments

Filed under Humor, Just for fun

6 responses to “Hump Day Humor ;-)

  1. Nate Logston

    glad to know there’s a word i can’t pronounce for phrases like these 🙂

  2. I making a commitment to stop procrastinating….I will start the day after tomorrow.

  3. Wendy Brook

    I survived the catastrophic California earthquake in 1989; I watched it all from my home in Colorado.

Leave a Reply

