Great advice from a beer commercial

For as long as I can remember beer commercials have been creative and cutting edge and funny as all-get-out. One that’s become popular in recent years profiles a guy touted to be “the most interesting man in the world.”

There are various commercials for this one brand of beer but they follow the same basic pattern. They chronicle this one man’s amazing feats, many of them beyond belief and purposely exaggerated, so that you can’t help but want to emulate him. Then he plugs the beer and closes with the same four words every time.

Stay thirsty my friend.

Not only do the advertisers hope that we will want to be like this fictional man, they want us to have a perpetual thirst that can only be satisfied by drinking their brand of brew.

The only problem is that nothing in this world actually satisfies the deepest thirst of our soul. Only God can do that. When Jesus encountered the woman at the well in John 4 he first asked for a drink of water from her and then offered her something that would so satisfy her that she would never thirst again.

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” ~ John 4:13-14

Jesus was speaking of the Holy Spirit – the person of the God-head that comes to bring us new life by living in us and continually breathing new life into our weary soul.

Sadly, most of us have never experienced what it is to live in continuous fellowship with the Spirit. But there’s good news! He won’t give up on us. The Holy Spirit is always there waiting to be invited into our lives. Waiting to take control and perform a work of transformation in us.

When I am thirsty, when my soul is parched from the difficult circumstances of this life, I find myself inviting the Spirit to come take control of my whole being and lead me into God’s presence. But when the heaviness of a situation fades I forget to stay thirsty for the Spirit. I default back to doing life on my own power, which is a poor position to be in when the next wave of life hits me and knocks me off my feet.

I need to learn… we all need to learn… to stay thirsty!

2 Comments

Filed under Desire, Holy Spirit, intimacy with the Lord, Loving God, Morphing, Surrender

2 responses to “Great advice from a beer commercial

  1. Our greatest need in life: to stay thirsty – spiritually thirsty; to stay constantly wanting MORE of what our great God wants to do in our lives.

    Many years ago now, Christians put a good “twist” on a beer adv. Media was swamped with “a cold, cold beer with a gold, gold top” along with a VERY catchy tune.
    Leaflets appeared in letter boxes and everywhere . . . a coffin with the words “a cold, cold BIER with a cold, cold top”

Leave a Reply

