Shaking like a leaf!

It’s amazing how intuitive animals can be. Thor, in the picture to the right after a recent bath, can tell when we are getting ready to leave the house for a while. To keep him safe and out of trouble we put him in a good-sized cage while we’re gone.

Yesterday when Brynden brought the cage into the house Thor took off! After a careful search Brynden ended up in our closet where he noticed a shirt hanging on the lower rack moving. Thor was under the shirt shaking like a leaf!

Even though we’ve left Thor a few times each week for eight months now he still hates it when we leave. As smart and intuitive as he is, Thor doesn’t understand that we’re coming back for him. He doesn’t understand that his situation is only temporary.

Jesus’ disciples went through this same experience of fear and anxiety when He told them about His impending death and departure from this life. To encourage them Jesus said…

“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am.” ~ John 14:1-3 (The Living Translation)

In essence, what Jesus was say was, “Your situation is only temporary. I’ll be back for you.”

When life is good – enjoy it for all it’s worth and be grateful. When life is hard and seems unbearable remember…

It’s only temporary and Jesus is coming back!

2 Comments

Filed under Courage, Encouragement, Heaven, Hope

2 responses to “Shaking like a leaf!

  1. troy

    rick, I really liked this post. As you kow from what I have been goinng through I have felt like the dog In the cage and have felt that I have been forgotten about and this has been a remider that this is only a tempoary situation. I know the Lord will heal me in his timig.

    • Hey Troy! So glad it was an encouragement to you. I certainly don’t know what God has in store with what you’re going through but I do know that he is going to use it for his glory! Our family is praying for you daily and every time God brings you to mind.

Leave a Reply

