If God handed out Oscars

Best Actress Academy Award

Image by cliff1066™ via Flickr

I enjoy a good movie as much as the next guy, maybe even a bit more; but I don’t go in for all the Hollywood glamor that goes with it. I suppose I did a little bit when I was younger but that was years ago before I understood that they are just human beings like the rest of us.

I guess that explains why I don’t follow the awards shows or plan my calendar around them; though I do enjoy catching snippets now and then. I caught some of the Oscars the other night. Those who win and use it as a political platform are annoying; but I enjoy the ones who seem genuinely humbled by the honor.

And don’t even get me started on hyper-analyzing the wardrobes. Give me a break! Everyone is entitled to their opinion on a dress or suit but how do they get away with making it such a big ordeal?! And who declared certain people as experts when it comes to critiquing what people wear?! And… (slow down, breathe, relax…).

Then I got to thinking about how it would be different if God handed out Oscars.

God would be a sure bet for visual effects – nature trumps anything that we can design. And He would be hard to beat in the category of soundtracks given all the amazing sounds of life itself. But all the Oscars related to acting would turn the stage upside down!

We highly regard and honor those who have honed the acting craft to the degree that they can make any character believable. But God gives honor to the opposite! God prizes integrity and authenticity above all else.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not criticizing or judging those who win acting awards. It is a vocation and they are excelling at what they do. They deserve to be recognized. But in life it is the person who is real and genuine that garners God’s esteem!

I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. ~ 1 Chronicles 29:17

And there is coming a day when God will hand out rewards to those who have loved and served Him faithfully. But it won’t be a shiny little statue. It will be a brand new place to live in a brand new world unlike anything Hollywood could dream up!

8 Comments

Filed under Authenticity, Heaven, Loving God, Serving

8 responses to “If God handed out Oscars

  1. Jenny King

    Rick, thanks for the thought provoking words this morning! I totally agree with you on all the hype about the award shows, and “what they are going to wear”

    I can’t wait til that day when we will be in a brand new place that our God has prepared for us!

    Have a great day! 🙂

  2. Darla Randall

    …and what a relief it is when we get to the point in life where we are at peace being our authentic selves!

    love ya, Brother!

  3. Ol' Rick

    AMEN! I’d much rather live there than here!

  4. From a woman’s perspective . . .
    We won’t have to be concerned about what we are going to wear because we will have the best of all – clothed in His righteousness!!!!!

Leave a Reply

