Her new favorite phrase!

Spring Point Township, Cumberland County, Illinois

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday Mykaela and I headed off to Indy (Indianapolis) for a doctor’s appointment to get her knee checked out. Since she’s got her permit it was also a chance to get in some driving practice. But not just any driving, this would be a first.

Our destination was about 90 minutes away and the fastest way to Indy is I-70 so I decided to let Mykaela get her first taste of fast, highway driving. In contrast to Kyrsten, who got her first taste of I-70 a few weeks ago and did fine but didn’t much care for it, Mykaela LOVED it!

Later that same day when we were sitting around the dinner table she was telling everyone else about it and exclaimed, “It was the first time dad ever said to me ‘you can go faster!‘” LOL It’s her new favorite phrase!

The irony in all of this is how their driving mimics their overall personalities. Kyrsten tends to drive (and do most other things) slowly while Mykaela tends to drive (and do most other things) fast! But that’s OK! That’s the way God wired them. They don’t have to be alike or prefer the same pace of life.

The key is for each of them to become comfortable in their own skin and learn how to drive appropriately for the stretch of road they are on. Going either too fast or too slow can be dangerous in the wrong situations. And the same is true for how we do life in general.

Some of us are wired to move fast in everything we do while others of us tend to prefer a slower pace. The key is learning how to best utilize our preferences and how to adapt to the changing situations of life. I think that’s part of what Jesus was offering to teach us when in Matthew 11:28-30 he extends this invitation:

Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” (NLT)

Eugene Peterson translates this same section and refers to “find your rest” as “learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” It’s not a rhythm that is the same for everyone. It is a rhythm that is the one God gave you. It is the rhythm that God sets by telling us “you can go faster” or “you need to slow down.”

 The challenge is learning to follow God’s lead! So…

How’s your pace of life?

2 Comments

Filed under Discipleship, Life in General

2 responses to “Her new favorite phrase!

  1. Leslie

    Thank you. I tend to be a bit slower paced but never thought of it as how God wired me. I needed this reminder that we are all different but God can use us no matter what.

Leave a Reply

