And while we’re on the subject…

Yesterday I blogged about some new and contraversial billboards being sponsered by The Center for Inquiry, a humanist group. And while we’re on the subject let me offer another observation about billboards.

Before I mention one in particular please understand that I’m not against Christian billboards; but some of them just don’t make much sense to me. The one I’m thinking of appears in various forms but the main message is always the same – “AVOID HELL!”

I’m definitely in favor of avoiding hell, I just don’t think that this is the best way to convince people of their need for God’s grace. Jesus Himself never stated that He came so that we could avoid hell but so that we could have real life (John 10:10).

Years ago a friend of mine, a successful salesman, offered some insight into why people tend to make a purchase or buy a certain product. He said that people don’t want to miss out on a great opportunity.

I’m not suggesting that sharing the Gospel is on the same level as marketing a product because it’s obviously very different. But how we understand basic human nature can help us in the process of sharing the Gospel.

Stop and consider all those commercials about visiting another state or a specific vacation spot. The appeal is not to avoid something but to come and share in something so wonderful that you don’t want to miss out!

I think the same is true for attracting others to God’s kingdom. If I had the money, I think I’d sponsor a billboard that read:

HEAVEN! So amazing that you

 

don’t want to miss it

 

for anything in this world!

 

Talk to Jesus today!

 

4 Comments

Filed under Evangelism, Heaven, influence with the world

4 responses to “And while we’re on the subject…

  1. Ol' Rick

    Great Idea! Wonder what a billboard costs.

  2. Leslie

    Love it! I think you should go for it, or at the very least, have business cards printed up.

Leave a Reply

