I wish I could say it was complete!

A couple of weeks ago Susan let me know that all she really wanted for Mother’s Day was for us to work on some landscaping around the house. She loves working in the yard and her primary love language is time spent together.

So we shopped for flowers and bushes and a tree. We bought a few large pots and even a decorative stand for holding some hanging plants. We filled the van with bags and bags of mulch. And of course we got some potting soil.

Then we waited for a break in the weather to be able to grab the gardening tools and get busy. For the last week we’ve used parts of days here and there to get one particular area transformed. What you see in the picture was pretty much just dirt!

I wish I could say it was complete! But I can’t! There is more mulch to be spread and several dirt spots to seed. There are even some trees to be trimmed. But the progress is obvious. Anyone who has seen the yard before immediately recognizes the improvement.

I hope that’s true of me as well. Sometimes I get frustrated at what seems like a lack of progress in becoming more like Jesus. I still lose my temper. I still think judgemental thoughts. I still wrestle with sin in various shapes and sizes. But I hope the overall progress is obvious.

I’ll be honest. If it weren’t for Susan I would not do nearly as much work on transforming the yard. And thankfully, I’m not on my own when it comes to the process of transformation that God wants to accomplish in me.

So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image. ~ 2 Corinthians 3:18 (NLT)

“…He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 1:6 (NIV)

The Holy Spirit delights in reshaping our lives so that we develop the character of Jesus and reflect  the glory of God. Even though we sometimes get frustrated, He doesn’t grow weary. What matters is not how far along we are but whether or not we are staying engaged in the process.

Are we fixing our gaze, our attention on Jesus?

2 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, Glory of God, Holy Spirit, Morphing

2 responses to “I wish I could say it was complete!

  1. darla

    WOW! WOW! WOW! I needed THAT!

    SO GRATEFUL He’s not done with me yet!

Leave a Reply

