They remind me that God is constantly working

So I have this friend Julie who has been exploring lots of questions about God and Jesus and the Bible and… life in general! We don’t get together on a real regular basis but when we do our conversations can last 2-3 hours. I really appreciate and enjoy those who are constantly asking questions and wanting to learn!

She’s been very inquisitive about what it means to have a relationship with God and yesterday I had the privilege of sharing in a special moment. We walked through rainy weather and a muddy field with a few of her family members to get to a friends creek where we shared in her new birth – her baptism!

Before Julie and I made our way into the very cold creek (brisk baby!) I read from Ephesians 2 and Romans 5 & 6; then I took her confession of faith. I reminded everyone there that while baptism was a special part of entering into a relationship with God it was only one part of a life-long journey.

I also shared one of my favorite things about Julie which is that she will text me her questions whenever they pop into her head. I’ve gotten them at various times throughout the day. I especially appreciate getting them when I’m busy doing some mundane chore because they break into a seemingly ordinary moment and remind me that God is constantly working.

God’s presence, even in the ordinary routines of life, makes every moment sacred!

It’s a new day and a new week. Maybe you’re looking forward to it… maybe you’re not. Either way, be ready! You never know when God is going to show up in the middle of a seemingly ordinary moment and involve you in something sacred!

If you have a story of how you have experienced God’s divine presence in an ordinary moment I’d love to hear about it! Leave a comment!

4 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Discipleship, Divine presence

4 responses to “They remind me that God is constantly working

  1. Connie

    It is a new week and I am looking forward to it here in Virginia! I can’t complain about the rain when He gave us a beautiful full rainbow for about an hour yesterday. It was gorgeous over the mountains! This is the day (cloudy and gray) the Lord has made and I’m going to be glad in it! Love ya

  2. julie

    Thank you Pastor Rick for all your answers to ALL my various questions. You have truly been a blessing!! What an Amazing God we have!!!! Yay Me!!!! I cant wait to see what else God has in store for my journey with Him!

Leave a Reply

