How to avoid the consequences of being stupid

I have to admit that it has taken me a few years to let go and move into the passenger’s seat. No… I’m not referring to teaching the girls how to drive but about helping the kids with 4-H projects.

Because I wanted them to do well and get blue ribbons I kept my hand in the project enough to ensure that it turned out well. But the long-range goal of them developing their skills was sacrificed for the short-term reward.

So last year I took a much different approach with Josh and Kyrsten’s model building. I waited until they asked for help. I took the same approach this year and yesterday Josh learned a big life lesson.

He got to going so fast with painting and building that he didn’t take time to read the instructions thoroughly. He ended up doing much more work than was necessary. Later that same day as Susan and I were chatting I asked him to tell her what he’d learned.

“That if you don’t take time to read the directions you’ll suffer the consequences of being stupid.”

That was a bit harsher than I would have put it but he certainly got the point. But we all do that at times with life and God. We rush into a situation and handle it as we see fit without taking the time to consider any directives that God has given us.

There is a way that seems right to a man, but in the end it leads to death. ~ Proverbs 14:12

This one principle is so important that Solomon repeats it in chapter 16 of Proverbs. God has given us His values and principles to live by for our own benefit. And we see them lived out in how Jesus did life. We need to slow down and spend more time in God’s word.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work. ~ 1 Timothy 3:16-17

Are you spending time in God’s word?

4 Comments

Filed under Life in General, Scripture

4 responses to “How to avoid the consequences of being stupid

  1. julie

    wow, this really hits home for me……I so desperately need to learn to BE PATIENT!!!! blah……… =^)

  2. julie

    btw…cool airplane!!!

Leave a Reply

