Don’t limit what God can do!

“Your reality is God’s glory. Everything that is happening in your life—especially the stuff you want to keep a secret—is an ingredient in God’s greatness. You might be thinking, I don’t want God to use that! God’s reply is, That is exactly what I want to use. God is eager to use your now-life, not your cleaned-up version. To fuel the dream, He prefers struggles over strengths. One gives Him glory, the other gives you glory. Yep, it’s the spots on the lepers and their utter helplessness that got God excited and put the clean to shame. Got some ugly spots dotting the epidermis of your life right now? Got old spots and scars that the masks can’t cover? God is operating in your uncomfortable realities today, not in the ideal future. Reality is where glory resides.” ~ From Dream by Kenny Luck

We tend to be a proud people. We don’t want anyone seeing our warts or blemishes lest they think less of us. So we work hard to cover up the imperfections that might bring criticism from others. But this directly limits what God can accomplish through us; it limits how much we reflect His glory.

The Apostle Paul describes being buffeted or challenged by a messenger of Satan sent to torment him. We don’t know exactly what form of struggle this was but we know that it pressed Paul to the point of exasperation so that he cried out to God for help. Here is his account of it.

Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. ~ 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

If you run into a Christian who talks as if they have arrived, as if they have it all together – watch out! That person has yet not yet begun to understand the things of God. They are fooling themselves but no one else and certainly not God.

Do you believe God can use the ugly parts of your life as well as the good?

To read more from Dream click here http://waterbrookmultnomah.com/catalog.php?isbn=9781578569878&view=excerpt&ref=email_crn_wbmlt_daily_6092011

7 Comments

Filed under Authenticity, Discipleship, Glory of God, Grace

7 responses to “Don’t limit what God can do!

  1. Rick,

    Yes, I believe with all my heart that the All Mighty uses the good, bad and ugly of our lives, secret or exposed to bring us closer to Him.

    Thanks and God bless,
    Michael

    • Glad to hear that Michael! Great to have you stop by my blog. I enjoyed checking out your blog and will be stopping by regularly! Thanks for sharing the journey!
      Blessings!
      Rick

  2. julie

    I swear sometimes you are totally reading my mind Pastor Rick….how do you do that??? lol

  3. Glad glory is in reality! This reality is not always what I want but learning His reality is truly glorious! See you tomorrow. On earth not in glory.

  4. Pingback: Weakness and God’s Grace « HOPEannFAITH

Leave a Reply

