The Father heart of God.

It began nearly 21 years ago when Eli, our oldest, was born; and it has continued non-stop ever since with all six of our children. What is “it?” I could be referring to the laughter, the heartache, the challenge, the delight, the tiredness, etc… of raising children. All of that and more is true. But the “it” I’m referring to is…

The Father heart of God.

As a young man following Jesus I understood the concept of God as Father, but actually being a father has given me endless insights into the heart of God. To be honest, of all that I did expect about being a parent and teaching my kids the important lessons of life; I wasn’t expecting them to teach me so much.

The lesson or insight that is filling every fiber of my being right now is the indescribable anguish of the Father in letting Jesus come to earth and die such a brutal death.

Yesterday we witnessed Sam taking an oath to serve and protect our country as he was sworn into the Marines and sent off to boot camp in San Diego. It’s what he’s wanted to do for a long, long time now and I am both very proud of him and excited for his new adventure; but it still hurts to let him go.

I know he’s not going off to face the enemy but it’s hard not to have my children close and available to share the journey of life. I’ve never been apart from any of them for 13 weeks. And as heavy as my heart is right now I know it’s even more difficult for Susan (mom) and Valerie (his wife) and Aaron (his three-month-old son).

But it makes me appreciate the love of our Father just that much more. It’s another glimpse into the depth of His compassion for us. The heartache of a Father letting a Son leave home in order to serve and rescue humankind.

Thank You Father!

8 Comments

Filed under Family, Love of God, Parenting

8 responses to “The Father heart of God.

  1. The lessons we learn through the Father and as a father…and so it continues.

    Thanks and God bless,
    Michael

  2. darla

    thank you for sharing your heart with us, dear Brother!

  3. Debbie

    You know it’s funny, I thought as a parent of a 26 year old and then a 16 year old, I had learned a lot. But then came the grandson…he is teaching even more. I am not a father, but being divorced and being a single mom I learn so much thru my kids. I am also raising a 17 year old nephew and even that relationship is different. I have to be careful to keep the distinction that I am not Mom, he has a Mom, even though she can’t take care of him, she loves him and he her. So I just wanted to agree with you in a long convoluted way and let you know that even as a grandparent, I learn more everyday. By the way, the grandparent part is much more fun that the parent part!! 🙂

  4. Chad Pentecost

    I know that I will never fully grasp the size of God’s love, but being a dad has definitely brought me closer. Thank you for sharing that with us.

Leave a Reply

