You’ve only got one body, take care of it!

It happened faster than I imagined it would. They laid me on a horizontal surface covered in white linens. Four probes connected me to their monstrous machine. Then the surface I was on slid inside a large donut shaped metal object that hummed and beeped. And a voice that came from nowhere told me to take a breath and hold it.

No, I’m not describing an alien abduction but rather a heart scan done at our local hospital. It’s a simple procedure that checks for hard plaque or calcium. It’s very non-invasive and only took about 20 minutes. I didn’t even have to empty my pockets or put on one of those infamous robes with the slit down the backside.

Given my family’s history with heart issues it was long overdue. And though I don’t have the results yet at least I’m moving in the right direction. I’m only three years younger than my dad was when he died of heart issues; and his brother and father died the same way – and at a young age. Some people inherit money or good looks or rare talent… then there are the rest of us. Ha!

I don’t have many regrets in life but I do wish I had taken better care of myself physically. It wasn’t an issue when I was younger and working construction; staying in shape came naturally. But entering full-time ministry was a drastic change in my lifestyle and activity level.

I know that our body is only temporary but that’s no excuse to not take care of it. Along with being stewards of all of God’s creation we are also responsible for the care of our own physical health.

I would rather be writing an account of success at having eaten better and exercised more. I’d rather be telling you how healthy I’ve gotten over the last couple of years. But I can tell you that it’s never too late – as long as we’re still breathing.

God is not honored by those who put too much emphasis or pride in their physical physique; but neither is He glorified in our neglect of such a rare and one-of-a-kind resource. So here’s my mantra starting today.

Eat better, move more!

2 Comments

Filed under Glory of God, Health & Wellness, Life in General

2 responses to “You’ve only got one body, take care of it!

  1. Linda Moles

    Bruce & I had it done last month. My score was fine (0.0), but Bruce’s was 29.6! Showed he’s at a moderate risk for a heart attack. There are a lot of heart problems in his family. Our family physician ordered a stress test. He’s got plaque starting to build up. It was the awakening that he needed to start making some changes. We go next month to have the vascular scans done (I made the appointment). Our bodies are to be temples unto the Lord. Too many people take life for granted.

Leave a Reply

