Feeling like a grasshopper

While I’m on the subject of whitewater rafting down the New River Gorge in WV – see posts from last two days – I have to say that one of the things I most appreciate about the river is how overwhelming and powerful it is.

That might sound a bit strange at first glance but we tend to live our days in very familiar territory with very little to stretch us or test our faith. But being dumped out of a raft and tumbled around in the currents reminds me that God and life and His creation are very BIG; and I am very small.

It reminds me that God is big enough to handle all those things that I tend to worry about. It reminds me to pause and be awestruck by an indescribably big Creator. Isaiah 40 has that same effect on me.

21 Do you not know? Have you not heard?
Has it not been declared to you from the beginning?
Have you not understood from the foundations of the earth?
22 It is He who sits above the circle of the earth,
And its inhabitants are like grasshoppers,
Who stretches out the heavens like a curtain
And spreads them out like a tent to dwell in.

Some folks might be offended at being referred to as a grasshopper; but I sort of like it because it reminds me of how big God is. And that means His love, mercy, grace, and kindness towards me are just as big and overwhelming.

Thank You Lord for experiences and images that remind us of how big You really are!

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Glory of God, Humility, Jesus, Life in General, Mercy

Leave a Reply

