In the Father’s lap

It was the second night of our five-day Ohio/West Virginia adventure last week. Our group of 13 parents and teens gathered around the campfire for some worship and a message from Keith challenging us to draw closer to God. After the message we sat around sharing our stories and I knew that something was weighing heavy on Mykaela’s heart so I motioned for her to come sit on my lap so I could hold her.

Later, after everyone had meandered off, Kyrsten was still there with me and was bothered by something weighing heavy on her heart. So I asked her if she wanted to sit on my lap. She did and we sat for a while. Then we prayed together about what it was that had her teary-eyed.

They are both almost 17 and it’s been a while since they have sat on my lap but it was just one of those times when a girl needs her daddy. I didn’t share any great words of wisdom or solve the issues that were making their hearts heavy. But I did wrap my arms around them and just hold them for a bit.

Even though I’m nearly half a century old there are still times when I want to just crawl up on a lap and have big, strong arms of love hold me. That’s what our heavenly Father does for us any time we need. But I must admit it has taken me a while to realize that. I grew up with a view of God that was very much less than inviting.

Maybe that’s why I never tire of focusing on God’s love for us. One of my favorite passages is Romans 5:8…

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

I like it because it reminds me that God doesn’t wait for me to get my act together before loving on me. In fact, if God did wait for me to get my act together… He’d still be waiting.

Thank you Lord for a love beyond measure and a lap to crawl into whenever I need it!

4 Comments

Filed under Children of God, Divine presence, intimacy with the Lord, Love of God

4 responses to “In the Father’s lap

  1. Don

    A lap is a terrible thing to waste. We all need to visit God’s lap more often.

  2. julie

    your girls are so blessed to have you as their dad!

Leave a Reply

