Depression is too serious to ignore!

Depression is not a fun subject to talk or write about. It’s not listed on the “Top 10 Topics” to blog about if you’re trying to increase your readership. But it’s just too serious to ignore!

The Cold, Hard Facts

121 million people worldwide suffer from depression. (World Health Organization)

18 million of these cases are happening in the United States. (The National Institute of Mental Health)

Between 20% and 50% of children and teens struggling with depression have a family history of this struggle and the offspring of depressed parents are more than three times as likely to suffer from depression. (U.S. Surgeon General’s Survey, 1999)

Depression often co-occurs with anxiety disorders and substance abuse, with 30% of teens with depression also developing a substance abuse problem. (NIMH)

2/3 of those suffering from depression never seek treatment.

Untreated depression is the number one cause of suicide, and suicide is the third leading cause of death among teenagers. (NIMH)

Depression is not a fun subject to talk about or write about but it is too important to ignore.

To Write Love on Her Arms is a Christian, non-profit organization that is tackling the multiple issues related to depression. I first heard about it from my oldest son Eli but just recently took the time to check it out for myself. I wish I had done so sooner!

You can learn more about it here.

Be sure to check out How You Can Help Right Now and take the time to share this with others!

6 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, Health & Wellness, Hope, influence with the world, Loving others

6 responses to “Depression is too serious to ignore!

  1. Wendy Brook

    May not be the most popular topic, but it is one that is too often swept under the rug. Too many people in this world don’t understand that when someone is battling depression they are not physically capable of “turning that frown upside down”. A few months back, for the first time in my 30+ years on the earth, I got to feel what others feel; I got to experience a life where all I had to do was say “I won’t let that ruin my day” and then move on with a smile. I never knew life could be that way. And though I greatly enjoyed my three months depression free, I had to stop taking the medication that made it possible. As you stated so well, depression is real, it is dangerous, and it not to be ignored. Thank you for being bold enough to blog about this tough subject.

  2. Why then do we try to sweep it under the rug or pretend it’s not real?
    Christian folk singer Michael Card has a song called “The Edge” that addresses this and the hope in Jesus Christ that is the antithesis to depression.
    The Bible has a bit to say about this. Psalms 42 asks the question: “Why am I so discouraged?” Psalm 77 also discusses the issue.
    I know depression first-hand and I hope that my experience with it can help others work through it.
    This is something I wrote on the topic not too long ago. http://toddfitchette.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/suicide-prevention-through-hope-in-christ/

    • Thanks for sharing Todd, I’m sure your experience will encourage many others!

      • Rick: My biggest focus continues to be my desire to support men who’ve gone through divorce. I’ve been fortunate enough to help my best friend through his divorce. Now I feel drawn to pray for couples in church, whether I know them or not. I hate what divorce does to families, particularly the children.

      • That is a tremendous need today and I have no doubt that God will use you to touch countless lives! I will be praying for you and your ministry every time God brings you to mind!

Leave a Reply

