Tyranny of the Urgent

Yesterday’s blog – Information or Transformation? – was a challenge from Pete Wilson to recognize hurry as a serious enemy of spiritual growth. What follows are excerpts from a little article/booklet entitled Tyranny of the Urgent.

Have you ever wished for a thirty-hour day? Our lives leave a trail of unfinished tasks. But would a thirty-hour day really solve the problem? When we stop to evaluate, we realize that our dilemma goes deeper than shortage of time; it is basically the problem of priorities.

We live in constant tension between the urgent and the important. The problem is that the important task rarely must be done today or even this week. The Gospel records show that Jesus worked hard. Yet his life was never feverish; he had time for people.

What was the secret of Jesus’ work? We find a clue following Mark’s account of Jesus’ busy day. Mark observes that…

“…in the morning, a great while before day, he rose and went out to a lonely place, and there he prayed.” ~ Mark 1:35

Here is the secret of Jesus’ life and work for God: He prayerfully waited for his Father’s instructions and for the strength to follow them. Jesus had no divinely drawn blueprint; he discerned the Father’s will day by day in a life of prayer.

If you can withstand the urgency of the initial moment, you will be in a better position to weigh the cost and discern whether the task is God’s will for you. Over the years the greatest continuing struggle in the Christian life is the effort to make adequate time for daily waiting on God, weekly inventory, and monthly planning.

He [Jesus] did not finish all the urgent tasks in Palestine or all the things he would have liked to do, but he did finish the work which God gave him to do.

These truths from Tyranny of the Urgent challenge my rhythm of life. And I admit that a lack of prayerfully waiting on God means I take myself too seriously and God not seriously enough!

To request a free copy of Tyranny of the Urgent in a Word document format let me know in a comment box below.

16 Comments

Filed under Discipleship, God's Will, Life in General, Morphing, Prayer

16 responses to “Tyranny of the Urgent

  1. Kent

    I’m sitting here catching up on a week’s worth of your blog entries because I’ve been “too busy” to keep up with them on a daily basis. So yes, I’d like a copy please. Thank you.

    • Ha Ha! I hear you Kent! “Busy” is an ongoing issue. I’ve sent the article via your email. if you don’t receive it or it doesn’t open for you please let me know. Blessings!

  2. Pingback: Day 24 – Marked Urgent « bardicblogger

  3. Dan Roseum

    Please email me a copy

    • I’d be glad to send you a copy Dan but I will need your email address. If you’ll post it in a comment box here I’ll send you a copy and then delete your address from the comment box. Thanks!

  4. DonaldR Goodwin

    I would like a free copy of Tyranny of Urgent sent to drgood59@eaglecom.net

  5. jeetesh

    i heard about the book from reading an article by howard g hendricks . please mail me a word document jeeteshs@yahoo.com

  6. Nancy

    I had a copy years ago and would like another. The message at church caused me to once again wish to read this book. Thank you so much. God bless. Please mail me a word document.

  7. hi could you send me a copy of ‘tyrany of the urgent’ to russ@theseekerchurch.com ? thanks!

  8. Bev Barnett

    I would love a copy of Tyranny of the Urgent…read it years ago and refer to it over and over in my mind…would like to read it again. Send to
    Thank you!

  9. Kristin Williams

    May I have copy?

Leave a Reply

