Still more to do!

It’s been a long and busy and tiring and productive week! We are working on some long overdue projects at the house and hired my nephew Joel from Michigan to come help for the week. Among the things we got done were:

  • Second-story windows wrapped in aluminum and caulked.
  • Porch roof shingled.
  • Porch beam prepared for soffit.
  • A window replaced and siding rehung.
  • Brickmold around the deck door replaced.
  • Ran some new wiring.
  • Laundry Room (LR) mudded, sanded and painted.
  • Cabinets installed in the LR.
  • Underlayment board and ceramic tile put down in the LR.

Whew! We worked several evenings and pushed our bodies well beyond the comfort zone. Susan and I are delighted at all that has gotten done this week – thanks in large part to Joel; but there is still more to do.

The same is true in God’s kingdom work here on earth. What we did last year or last month or last week to further God’s agenda of loving Him and loving others is great! But there is still more to do! After offering an impressive list of what he had already done, Paul says this:

12 Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus. ~ Philippians 3:12-14

I press on! I keep going! I persist in what God has for me to do! I give myself to something bigger than myself. I empty myself giving every last ounce of energy and effort. I continue to envision what else might be possible.f

It’s a new day and there is still more to do!

Leave a comment

Filed under Determination, influence with the world, Kingdom of God, Loving God, Loving others

Leave a Reply

