Grace invites us to be real!

The other day I was reading one of the various blogs I follow and the guy was making the point that we have to be careful with what we say yes to because our time is limited and precious. I whole-heartedly agree but have issue with the example he gave.

He talked about how he had agreed to have lunch with someone he had recently met at a workshop but was frustrated that the guy came unprepared and seemed to talk in circles. He felt like he had completely wasted his time with this guy.

But perhaps what this guy needed most was not a solution to his dilemma but rather just the affirmation that another human being cared enough to listen? Is’s not about where we want someone to be on the journey, it’s about where they are and what God is doing in their life.

One person who commented on the blog asked if getting paid for the time of meeting for lunch would make a difference. Would $100 make him feel any better about taking the time to have lunch? This commenter openly admitted that he was trying to discern the bloggers motives.

To my surprise and shock the blogger replied that while money would not have changed his opinion about the time he spent with this guy, he got way more than $100 for an hour of his time.

Really?! My first thought was…

“I’ll bet Jesus would sit and talk with me for nothing!”

I was completely appalled by this guys’ comment that he gets way more than $100 for an hour of his time. He could have simply answered the commentors question with a simple yes or no. This blogger recently resigned as president of a major Christian book company and even has a few books to his credit. Yet with all that success he felt the need to protect or boost his image with a statement about getting way more than $100 an hour.

What this blogger did made me want to puke… but I’ve done the very same thing. It’s called Image Management and we all do it on a fairly regular basis. We make little comments here and there explaining our actions or defending something we said. We desperately want others to have a good opinion about us, even if it’s maybe less than accurate.

Truth is… we’re all screwups and Ragamuffins; but God loves screwups and Ragamuffins so it’s OK. God’s grace invites us to be real. Only when we’re real can God’s grace transform us and make us more like Jesus.

So, how easy is it for you to be real?

4 Comments

Filed under Authenticity, Christianity, Courage, Grace, Morphing

4 responses to “Grace invites us to be real!

  1. I could’nt agree more. I grew up in a typical traditional christian home. but received the revelation of grace recently.
    looking at my self, I see my weakness, I see my worries and I see my real self. the weakness, worries and my self has been concealed by the law for years!
    The grace of Jesus has made me real. real enough to come to Him without pretense. My weakness has turned into strength, Worries turned into infectious peace, and my self died with Jesus at the cross!

    keep on keeping on

    • Thanks for the encouragment and for stopping by my blog. I am so glad to hear that grace is a vital part of your relationship with God. Having grown up in the Catholic church I was unfamiliar with grace. Even after 4 years of Bible College it was largely unfamiliar to me. But in the last 10 years God has used some authors like Brennan Manning, Philip Yancey, Max Lucado and Larry Crabb to teach me about His grace. As a pastor I have many, many encounters such as yours and I delight in nothing more than helping people discover that Jesus came full of grace and truth. (John 1:14) God bless you as you continue to swim in the bottomless pool of His amazing grace!

  2. julie

    probably too real here…..

Leave a Reply

