What’s in it for me?

Oops! Did I say that out loud? Well, OK then. Might as well own it. I have a strong propensity to be self-absorbed.

I would love to tell you that it only rears its ugly head every once in a blue moon, but it tends to be more frequent than that.

To be fair, there are times when, “What’s in it for me?” is an appropriate question. But many more times when it is not.

One of those times when it is not appropriate is when it comes to participation with the church – the body of Christ.

Jesus said that we would find true life by giving ourselves away for His kingdom purposes. When we start measuring everything that goes on at church with “What’s in it for me?” we head down a slippery slope that takes us nowhere good.

Obviously, we need to feel feed and challenged and nurtured by our involvement with the church family; but that happens when we enter into it asking things like:

  • What can I give?
  • How can I help?
  • Where can I serve?
  • Who can I bless?

When we involve ourselves with the church in an attitude of putting God and others first it’s a win-win for everyone!

From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.” ~ Ephesians 4:16

The church body is built up in love when each person does their part to contribute. That only happens when we set aside the question, “What’s in it for me?” and look for ways to contribute.

When we gather with our church family this weekend, may we be a blessing to those who gather alongside us!

 

2 Comments

Filed under involvement with the church, Loving others, Serving

2 responses to “What’s in it for me?

  1. Kent

    Isn’t it a mater of how we view the word “me”. Does “me” stand for our self-interest or does “me” stand for a follower of Jesus. If it’s the later, then “What’s in it for me?” becomes “Where are the opportunities to demonstrate that I am a follower of Jesus?” I was blessed to have had a Mother who clearly demonstrated that attitude. Personally, I’m still struggling to redefine “me”. Thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

