Following Jesus is not a smorgasbord!

So the other day I’m driving in Richmond and coming up to a corner that is clearly marked “No Turn on Red.” I generally abide by these particular signs but also don’t want to get stuck at a red light as they tend to be long at that particular intersection.

The light was already green at this particular intersection so gauging my distance I decided I’d better speed up to get there before it turned red. I made the light while it was still green but just about the time I got there it dawned on me that I had to break the speed limit to get there in time.

I broke one traffic law in order to keep another one!

Can you imagine explaining that to a police officer?

“Well sir, I was speeding in this section so that I wouldn’t have to turn right at a corner clearly marked ‘No Turn on Red.'”

It doesn’t work that way! You can’t justify breaking one traffic law in order to observe another one. And neither can you pick and choose which traffic laws you want to abide by.

We sometimes do that very thing with God’s word. We give all kinds of attention to one principle or boundary that God has given us but then blatantly ignore another one.

Following after Jesus is not a smorgasbord. We can’t pick and choose which parts to obey and which ones to ignore. They all apply… to EVERYONE!

When Jesus delivered His final directive (Matthew 28:18-20) He told his followers to go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them… and…

“…teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you.”

6 Comments

Filed under Discipleship, Jesus

6 responses to “Following Jesus is not a smorgasbord!

  1. Chad Pentecost

    You mean to tell me that I’m not the only one who drives like that? Your message is so true. I get caught up in one aspect of my walk that I neglect another. More times than not I neglect the “all nations” aka all peoples part. I’m often too judgmental. Thanks for the message!

  2. Connie

    That three letter word (ALL) says a lot. He wants me to do ALL He says and to be ALL I can be and observe ALL His laws. All on His terms NOT mine. So hard to do ALL He wants. There’s no almost or just about all. It’s ALL for Jesus!

  3. Darla Randall

    you did it again — OUCH! Thanks, Brother! I needed that!

Leave a Reply

