Chill out with God!

NOTE: In relating this story I am in no way offering medical advice!

My wife Susan and I both grew up in an era when chiropractors were thought of as quacks. And just to be clear, “quack” was not a term of endearment. Public opinion has changed and so has ours. For a long time now we have enjoyed the benefits of chiropractic adjustments. It certainly can’t cure every ailment but it can do some things that other medical treatments cannot.

I have a long history of sciatic pain issues but in the last few months my right hip and gluteus maximus have been a major pain in the butt (pun intended)! My chiropractor has suggested a variety of stretches and even a few natural supplements that act as muscle relaxers. But he got my attention when he told me to go…

…sit on some ice!

Go sit on what?! Yep… ice. It sounds counterintuitive. If my muscles are tight wouldn’t I want to sit on a heating pad? That’s what mom always did. Heat has its place but when muscles and other soft tissue get inflamed they swell and the best thing for swelling is ice.

I have to be honest. The first time I sat my right butt check on an ice pack I was skeptical and had little expectation that it would help. And… I was wrong! I will likely always wrestle with sciatic pain when I overexert my body but now I have another weapon in the arsenal of dealing with it. I literally chill out with an ice pack!

The same dynamic applies when life gets busy. We tend to think that the more we have to do the faster we need to go. The problem is that the list of things “to do” typically only gets bigger and bigger. So how do we keep from burning out?

Chill out with God!

Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world. ~ Psalm 46:10

Be still… Stop… Slow down… Pause… Take a break… Chill…

The bad news: You can’t do it all!

The good news: God doesn’t intend for you to do it all!

It might sound counterintuitive to be still when we have so much to do, but only when we stop and connect with our Creator can we gain perspective. We need God’s help to sort through it all and focus on those things that will have an eternal impact. So take some time today to…

Chill out with God!

4 Comments

Filed under intimacy with the Lord, Life in General, Rest

4 responses to “Chill out with God!

  1. Ah, we have something else in common!

  2. Paul’s thorn in the flesh may have been a pain in the butt!

Leave a Reply

