An indirect blessing

Like a spring storm looming on the horizon the evidence was mounting and impossible to ignore.

  • During a camping trip last summer a friend moved out of the tent and told me I needed to see a doctor.
  • Susan’s continuing comments that my snoring was going to drive her out of our bedroom.
  • Trouble staying awake whenever I drove the 25 minutes to or from the office.
  • Constantly feeling tired no matter how much sleep I got.

So off I went to the doctor who ordered a sleep study. Turns out my nose can accommodate as many as three nasal canula though I wouldn’t recommend it; and I have a moderate issue of sleep apnea.

It took a bit of getting used to but I’ve been using it for a month now and it has made a noticeable difference. I’m sleeping much better and feeling more rested when I get up. That’s the direct blessing, but there’s also been an indirect blessing. Since I no longer snore Susan is sleeping much better too!

The same should be true of everyone we come into contact with in the course of an ordinary day! When God called Abram, later renamed Abraham, to leave his home and family He said:

I will make you into a great nation  and I will bless you; I will make your name great,  and you will be a blessing. ~ Genesis 12:2

God didn’t bless Abram just so that Abram could be happy or comfortable but so that Abram could in turn bless others.

When we accept God’s gift of grace we are directly blessed with new life. But an indirect blessing should come to everyone around us as we become more like Jesus and do life in a way that is more loving, more kind, more considerate, more forgiving, more… like Jesus!

Who will we bless today?

***

2 Comments

Filed under influence with the world, Loving others

2 responses to “An indirect blessing

  1. I love it! I’m hiding the post from my wife.

Leave a Reply

