Stay alert!

Last night a new season of Biggest Loser got under way. It’s inspiring to watch people who are slaves to unhealthy habits begin to get their lives back; to regain a sense of freedom.

Being the first show of the season there were plenty of breakaway segments delving into the contestants’ backgrounds. The list of reasons or circumstances that lead to folks getting so out of shape and unhealthy is enormous. And most have struggled with it their entire lives.

But last night I noticed something. For the last few seasons, the ones I can remember, there have been one or two people who were at one time very healthy and very much in shape. The story that jumped out at me last night was Kim’s.

Being active came easily as a child for Kim Nielsen; she played basketball and softball, and in high school, she was the MVP and an all-state athlete for both sports. She went on to compete as a professional wrestler and model for Natural Muscle magazine. At her peak, she had just 10% body fat!

Now a single mother of three at age 38, Kim weighs 252 pounds and says she is tired of hiding from fans, friends and family because of the way she looks. She wants to be around as long as possible for her children and have the energy to keep up with them.

Life threw Kim some curves and now she’s stuck inside a body big enough for two people. What’s my point?

Stay alert!

It doesn’t matter how well we’ve done in the past, as followers of Jesus we still have an enemy who is out to destroy us.

Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. ~ 1 Peter 5:8

Stay focused! Don’t drop your guard! Don’t be complacent but keep pursuing Jesus hard every day! In his letter to the believers at Ephesus Paul wrote:

 Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere. ~ Ephesians 6:18

One of the best ways to stay on track in our journey with God is by praying for other’s who are sharing the journey. I’ve prayed for everyone who will read this blog, God knows who you are.

Who will you pray for today?

***
6 Comments

Filed under Choices, Determination, Encouragement, involvement with the church, Prayer, Satan

6 responses to “Stay alert!

  1. Leslie

    Such a great reminder and, you’re right, we do need to stay alert. Becoming complacent is one of the best ways to let satan sneak in with his attacks. Thank you for this timely reminder.

  2. Deborah Foelker

    This is so true Rick we were talking last night at our bible study and I have a friend who has been drug free for over two years. She had been a meth addict. While watching the show on TV “Intervention” it was a show about a woman on meth. She said she actually craved the drug and totally watched the pipe being lit and the drug melting in the pipe and she was shocked that those feelings were so close to the surface. It just made her all the more aware that Satan and the evil drug she had been on is only too happy to come back with a little bit of an invitation. I told her God was making her aware of how close it really was, even though she was confident in her sobriety. This just goes right along with that lesson. Thank you!

  3. julie

    Funny you bring this up…………………. in my younger days or just like a year ago, I only thought going to the bars was the only way I could have fun. I sit across from a lady at work who probably isnt the best influence on me, well, I KNOW she isnt the best influence on me and she has been talking about going out and it sounds fun. Even tho I know I will feel like crap the next day, I still want to do it. Having a drink takes the edge off but the problem with me is I dont know when to stop usually. I know I shouldnt and probably wont anyway because I really dont like staying up that late and probably couldnt stay up that late anyway….lol. But my point is is that it is hard, so hard, the temptation.
    It is like I have to reprogram myself. Thank you for the post. You have made me rethink about it.

Leave a Reply

