We all need an occasional reminder

The setting: Our house on a recent Sunday morning as we’re getting ready for church. A brief exchange between Mykaela (one of my 17-year-old daughters – twins!) and myself. I’m in the kitchen and she is in a nearby bathroom.

Me: (walking into the kitchen to find that Mykaela has started a pot of coffee) Thanks for asking if I wanted any.

Mykaela: Well you never ask me if I want any when you fix coffee during the week.

Me: That’s because you’re already gone to school when I make it.

Mykaela: Well… you need to make it earlier.

Me: So I should change the schedule that works for me just to accommodate you?

Mykaela: EXACTLY!

Me: When I get the memo from God that it’s all about you I’ll do that!

This was not a serious exchange but one done playfully. As often as I can, I engage my kids in light-hearted bantering that reminds them that life does not revolve around them.

While I do make every effort to help them embrace that they are unique and special individuals made in the image of our loving Creator, I also make every effort to point out that life is God’s story…not ours.

Our story – if we choose to surrender it – can fit into God’s bigger story and find an eternal purpose. But ultimately, life is God’s story.

It’s easy to forget that. The world markets endless products on the basic premise that we’ll buy into the notion that it’s all about us; that we are the center of the universe. We all need an occasional reminder that it’s not all about us.

So in case you forgot, remember…

Life does not revolve around you! Life is God’s story!
***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

4 Comments

Filed under Children of God, God, Life in General, Priorities, Surrender

4 responses to “We all need an occasional reminder

  1. Darla Randall

    OH MY…It’s NOT all about ME?! (PRAISE GOD!!!)

  2. God’s story, totally right.

Leave a Reply

