Is God Enough?

What is it you’re facing or dealing with that has you feeling like hope is slipping through your fingers like sand from the beach?

Is it keeping you awake at night? Distracting your thoughts during the day?

Remember…

There is not a single need you could possibly have that isn’t addressed by the words of Psalm 23.

Not one.

No matter what inadequacy or hardship you’re facing and how deeply you’re facing it, no matter how problematic or distressful or exacting it may be—if the Lord is your Shepherd, He can meet all of your needs.

The Twenty-third Psalm was David’s way of saying God is more than enough to meet whatever lack or constraint or extremity or impossibility you might ever encounter. ~ Excerpted from God Is More Than Enough by Tony Evans

Don’t rush through Psalm 23. Slow down. Take a few deep breaths. Calm your spirit. Take a few moments to remember that God is God. He is our Creator. He is Lord over all of life. And He is fully aware of everything that troubles your heart.

Now read Psalm 23 slowly, letting the words soak into you like water into a sponge on a hot summer day. Then take a deep breath and read it again.

1 The LORD is my shepherd; I have all that I need.
2
He lets me rest in green meadows;
he leads me beside peaceful streams.    
3
He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths,
bringing honor to his name.
4
Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff
protect and comfort me.
5
You prepare a feast for me in the presence of my enemies. You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
My cup overflows with blessings.
6
Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life, and I will live in the house of the LORD forever.

***

What aspect of God as our Shepherd is most meaningful to you?

Click here to read an excerpt from God Is More Than Enough
© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

4 Comments

Filed under Encouragement, Faith, Fear, God, Grace, Hope, intimacy with the Lord, Peace, Trusting God

4 responses to “Is God Enough?

  1. Thanks. Great post. It also helps if your replace the personal pronoun with your own name. “Hey, God is talking to ME!”

Leave a Reply

