How will we choose to view our hurts?

A cloudy spring day with temperatures in the mid 60’s seems like poor weather to someone living in San Diego, Ca., but to a person living in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan it would seem balmy and warm.

A bologna sandwich seems like cruel and unusual punishment in a four star restaurant, but to a starving child in the inner city of Atlanta it would seem like a feast.

The context of an experience completely changes the nature and value of that experience.

“God’s decision to forgive Peter required the death of his Son; Peter’s decision to forgive those who had offended him would cost him little more than his pride. The same is true for us.

In the shadow of my hurt, forgiveness feels like a decision to reward my enemy. But in the shadow of the cross, forgiveness is merely a gift from one undeserving soul to another. Forgiveness is the gift that ensures my freedom from a prison of bitterness and resentment.” – Andy Stanley

We are a fallen people living in a fallen world. Live long enough and you will be hurt by the actions or inactions of others.

When I view my hurts only in the context of my experiences, they become enormous and overwhelming. They seem completely unfair.

When I view my hurts in the context of what Jesus endured on the cross, they suddenly become rather small and insignificant.

So, chosen by God for this new life of love, dress in the wardrobe God picked out for you: compassion, kindness, humility, quiet strength, discipline. Be even-tempered, content with second place, quick to forgive an offense. Forgive as quickly and completely as the Master forgave you.” ~ Colossians 3:12-13 (The Message)

Being hurt is inevitable. Holding onto that hurt is optional.

How will we view and what will we do with our hurts?

***
© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

9 Comments

Filed under Choices, Forgiveness, Freedom, Grace, Humility, Life in General, Loving others, Mercy, Suffering

9 responses to “How will we choose to view our hurts?

  1. Debbie Foelker

    This is sooo necessary today Brother Rick..there is a young man on trial for stomping a 17 month old baby to death. I don’t know either of these people, but I am soooo angry at the man. I just can’t imagine someone that could be so darn cruel. But, I see I need to forgive…I just can’t imagine how the poor mother feels..

    • I’m with you Debbie. I can’t imagine how anyone could do something so terrible, and I can’t imagine extending forgiveness to that young man without a lavish outpouring of God’s grace. What a heartbreaking situation!

  2. Jeff Farley

    Great stuff Rick.

  3. Pingback: Hurt « life of a female bible warrior

  4. julie

    so i was looking over here to the right >>>>>>>>>>>>>> and up and noticed the good reads……what is that?

    • It’s brand new on my blog but its a program that has been around a while. Anyone can go online to goodreads.com and sign on for free. It’s sort of like a book club in the sense that you can connect with friends (like FB) and share your rankings or reviews of books. If you join then tag me as a friend. 😉

  5. I appreciate your thoughts on keeping our hurts in perspective. Yes, they hurt and we’re not helping ourselves by denying that fact. But we have the power to truly be free of them in Christ. I just don’t always (or even very often) remember to bring my hurts to him first.

Leave a Reply

