It’s bigger than you and me

If you asked 10 different people why they blog or what they get out of it, you would likely get 10 different answers. But more interesting to me would be how it has changed for them since they first started.

I began blogging while in-between ministries. I had an urge to share what God was teaching me but had no audience. And blogging about God daily gave me a greater awareness of His presence in the midst of what was happening.

I have also come to appreciate the process of blogging because it has taught me to craft my words and ideas more carefully. I’m learning that sometimes less is more.

But the biggest benefit I receive from blogging right now is the constant reminder that God’s kingdom is active all around the globe.

Why is it so easy for us to develop the mindset that the bulk of what God is doing revolves around our particular church family?

Don’t get me wrong. I greatly value the local church because it serves as the hands and heart of God to that community. But each church group is just one tiny blip on the radar screen of the kingdom of God.

One core sin issue, and perhaps the biggest, is our propensity to be self-absorbed. Multiply that by however many people you have in a church family and the potential to think that it all revolves around us is enormous!

But blogging keeps me connected and involved with others who are actively living out God’s kingdom purposes right where they are – all around the world.

Last week I added a new feature to the sidebar of my blog. On the right side and lower down is a map of the world. Each red dot represents a visitor to my blog. There are people in places I’ve never been who are sharing the journey of following Jesus.

Love your church family. Pray for them. Get involved. But remember that God’s kingdom exists everywhere His people exist and live out His purposes.

“Our Father in heaven, may your name be kept holy. May your Kingdom come soon. May your will be done on earth, as it is in heaven.” ~ Matthew 6:9-10

May the kingdom of God advance today throughout the world as you and I demonstrate the love and grace and truth of God wherever we are and in whatever we are doing!

***
© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

6 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Christianity, Church, God, influence with the world, involvement with the church, Kingdom of God

6 responses to “It’s bigger than you and me

  1. rick, do i need to pay for that map thingy on your right side bar? i wish to put mine too without expense

  2. julie

    ****clapping***standing ovation***
    You are right on!! Love it!!

  3. This really sums up one of the great things about blogging. I’ve also been encouraged by this as a new blogger – just how much God’s love is spreading and changing people’s lives throughout the world. May God continue to use you across all continents in your online ministry.

    • Thank you! It was an unexpected benefit of blogging and I’m glad to know that you are experiencing it as well. I’m grateful to be sharing the journey with you and trust that God will continue to use your online ministry to bless and challenge others as well.

Leave a Reply

