The Air I Breathe

Worship is simply about value. The simplest definition I can give is this: Worship is our response to what we value most.

That’s why worship is that thing we all do. It’s what we’re all about on any given day. Because worship is about saying, “This person, this thing, this experience (this whatever) is what matters most to me…it’s the thing I put first in my life.”

That “thing” might be a relationship. A dream. Friends. Status. Stuff. A name. Some kind of pleasure. Whatever name you put on it, this thing or person is what you’ve concluded in your heart is worth most to you. And whatever is worth most to you is—you guessed it—what you worship.

Worship tells us what we value most. As a result, worship determines our actions, becoming the driving force for all we do… In the end, our worship is more about what we do than what we say.
~ Excerpted fromThe Air I Breathe by Louie Giglio

What or who do you worship?

***
© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

5 Comments

Filed under Loving God, Worship

5 responses to “The Air I Breathe

  1. An awesome quote, and definition of worship. We all worship something don’t we.

  2. Let’s just say that while I know who I should worship, but the Holy Spirit periodically opens my eyes to that which I really worship. I’ll spare you the details. I’m thankful when my idols are exposed, however, for then I can repent and, by God’s grace, re-focus my worship on Him. Great quote and a challenging question. Thank Rick.

  3. Pingback: Come, let us lie unto the Lord « Tales from a Nut Shell cracked open

Leave a Reply

