Faithful in the mundane

Mundane: 1. Lacking interest or excitement; dull. 2. Of this earthly world rather than a heavenly or spiritual one.

There are moments when I’m a fan of the mundane. Life can sometimes get so crazy and busy and chaotic that a little bit of uneventful, ordinary mundane is wonderful. But most of the time I hate it!

I spent three weeks working in a factory once and thought I was going to go insane. No offense intended to those who work in a factory. It is valuable labor and I respect those who do it. I’m just not wired to do the same thing over and over and over.

But often times, moments that appear to be mundane are really the fertile ground God uses to grow us and prepare us for the next phase of our journey with Him.

My God was a carpenter’s son with calluses to prove it. He swept sawdust from the floor at the end of the day. His feet were dirty most of his life. He wiped the sweat from his brow in his Nazareth existence, and for thirty years he waited. He obeyed. He was faithful in the mundane.

We don’t hear much about this part of Jesus’ life. There aren’t many verses dedicated to it, so we concentrate on the big events: the incarnation, the healings, his crucifixion and resurrection. But Jesus was not just biding time on his journey through the ordinary. God had an eternal purpose for the dust and troubles that prepared Jesus for the path of suffering ahead. I believe he has a purpose for the dust you and I encounter today.
~ Excerpted from At the Corner of Mundane and Grace by Chris Fabry

No matter how ordinary or mundane today’s activities may seem, God is still working in ways we can’t begin to imagine.

Let’s be faithful in the mundane!

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

6 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Faithful, Life in General, Religion and Spirituality, Trusting God

6 responses to “Faithful in the mundane

  1. Scrabble isn’t mundane!! I spent half a year in a car factory on the press line – every hour seemed to last 24. It makes teaching and ministry seem a lot easier when I remember those days.

  2. Yes I know some of my most mundane seasons have been truly times of preparation for bigger, more impactful events in my life. They may have been hard, but God spoke to me in them. Good thought, and I like the dust analogy.

  3. Connie Pitcher

    I really like this meditation and especially the quote from Chris Fabry’s book.
    I would like to read more of his work and plan to find the book. I am Connie Pitcher, Chad Pentecost’s mother.

Leave a Reply

