It’s MY choice!

I know it started way before my earliest recollection of it, but there seems to be no end to it. I’m speaking of that general notion that life is all about me.

It was a Burger King slogan that told me to “Have It Your Way.”

It’s a common thread in most advertising campaigns but it has reached a new high, or low depending on how you look at it.

The other day I was in the check-out line when I noticed gum with the label “UP2U”

I didn’t get it at first. Picking a pack of gum is my choice to begin with so why do I need one pack of gum with two flavors that gives me yet one more choice?

OOOOH, now I get it! Because it reinforces my individuality, my freedom to choose, the notion that life really is all about me.

Sure it’s only gum, but it’s MY choice!

Why pick gum with just one flavor when I can get a pack with two?

I want to feel empowered every time I choose which flavor to chew.

But wait! What happens if I don’t choose evenly? What if I run out of one flavor before I run out of the other? I won’t have any choice to make!

Unless I choose to go back to the store and get more multi-flavor packs of gum.

Whew! That was a close one!

Maybe one day I’ll be able to go online to order my gum and choose how much of each flavor I want! AWESOME!

That breeze you feel blowing across your face is from the rotation of the world as it revolves around me.

Me and MY choice! Ha Ha Ha! (He laughed in an evil, self-satisfied sort of way)

24 Then Jesus told his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, let him  deny himself and  take up his cross and follow me. 25 For  whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it. 26 For  what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul? Or  what shall a man give in return for his soul? ~ Matthew 16:24-26 (ESV)

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Choices, Christianity, Consumerism, Jesus, Religion and Spirituality

Leave a Reply

