Not an evening stroll!

Wait Lord, I need to catch my breath! (pant, wheeze, gasp)

“I have learned to appreciate my father’s willingness to let God be the mystery that he is and, with eyes wide open, to pursue him, not with the precision of a crossword puzzle fanatic but with the reckless passion of a pilot flying into the Bermuda Triangle. 

Following Christ is a wild adventure full of risk, frustration, excitement, and setbacks.  It is not an evening stroll in a planned community along a well-manicured path.” ~ From God of My Father by Larry Crabb

I don’t know about you but I need the occasional reminder that being on a journey with God through this life is nothing short of a wild adventure.

Truth be told, I tend to prefer things calm and quiet and controlled. But too much of that gets old real fast!

Yet too much of the wild adventure can leave me breathless and grabbing for something to hold on to so I don’t collapse.

This summer has left me feeling like that. Breathless and grabbing…

It always seems to come back to the core issue of trusting the Author of the bigger story.

OK Lord, I’m ready to go when You are…

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

6 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Discipleship, Faith, God, Relationship with God, Religion and Spirituality, Trusting God

6 responses to “Not an evening stroll!

  1. O.k. Rick, just take a big deep breath and … That is the great thing about being a child of God, there is no time to be bored!

  2. Holly Michael

    My summer has been the same way. I keep wondering what could possibly happen next. Need to hold on tightly.

Leave a Reply

