When we don’t sense God’s presence

There is nothing in this life more exhilarating than to experience the very presence of God. But what does it mean when we don’t sense it?

Aren’t we created to enjoy an intimate relationship with our Creator? Yes!

Didn’t Jesus’ death, burial and resurrection secure our forgiveness and restore the chance for us to fellowship with the Holy Trinity – Father, Son and Spirit? Again, yes!

Aren’t we given the Holy Spirit to dwell in us as the tangible experience of God being with us until we join Him beyond this life? Yes! Yes! Yes!

Then why is it that I don’t always sense or feel His presence, especially at times when I need it the most?

I long for it. I ask for it. I sing songs that celebrate it. But I don’t always experience it.

In SoulTalk, Larry Crabb shares the following story about a conversation he had with his dad one day while driving home from the hospital.

My father once told me how grateful he was for the opportunity to believe God’s Word when nothing he felt or saw helped him to believe. He had just gone through a ten-day ordeal in the hospital following open-heart surgery.

On the way home from the hospital, he said to me, “So many good friends came to visit me during those awful days. But God never showed up. The One I wanted most to come never did. I never felt his presence for even a moment as I lay there in the hospital bed.”

And then I heard his voice choke: “To think he trusted me to believe he was there just because he said he was, with no other evidence—I’m so grateful!”

This mystery has been kept in the dark for a long time, but now it’s out in the open. God wanted everyone, not just Jews, to know this rich and glorious secret inside and out, regardless of their background, regardless of their religious standing. The mystery in a nutshell is just this: Christ is in you, so therefore you can look forward to sharing in God’s glory. It’s that simple.
~ Colossians 1:26-27 (MSG)

No matter what situation we are facing… no matter what crisis seems to be lurking in the shadows… no matter what we might be feeling at the moment… Christ is in us!

If we’re not sensing God’s presence, perhaps we’re being given a chance to demonstrate trust in Him.

***
© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2012. All rights reserved.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity, Divine presence, Faith, God, Holy Spirit, intimacy with the Lord, Relationship with God, Religion and Spirituality, Trusting God

2 responses to “When we don’t sense God’s presence

Leave a Reply

