Serenaded by God

songWhen Susan and I were dating in college I would occasionally serenade her in the middle of walking across campus.

Are there stars out tonight?
I can’t tell if it’s cloudy or bright.
‘Cause I only have eyes for you.

I suppose she might have enjoyed it more if I’d sung it softly rather than belting it out at the top of my lungs. (sheepish grin)

But she felt differently when I sang a song at our wedding. It was one I’d written especially for her. As you might imagine, it made her feel very special.

When our kids were young we’d make up little melodies and use their names to sing about how much we loved them. The smile on their face and sparkle in their eyes was priceless.

Ever had someone sing a song just for you?

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save, He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” ~ Zephaniah 3:17

Your Creator, Your Maker, the One who formed you to enjoy you and gave His only Son to redeem you celebrates you with a song!

The very idea makes my head spin.

How does it make you feel?

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2013. All rights reserved.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianity, God, intimacy with the Lord, Jesus, Love of God, Relationship with God, Religion and Spirituality

2 responses to “Serenaded by God

  1. My all time favourite text!

Leave a Reply

