Tagging along with the Spirit’s movement

SoulTalk“My job is to follow the Spirit’s movement, never to try to move people on my own.  I am to desire the Spirit’s goal for my troubled friends: not a better marriage, but an aroused appetite for God that could lead to a better marriage.  I am to wait for the Spirit to move and then tag along, to walk through doors he opens into their souls, not to insist they see something now and change.”
~ Larry Crabb, Soul Talk

I’ve been stuck on a phrase from Romans 8:4 for quite some time now. Paul is addressing our need to learn to walk in the Spirit and says, “instead of redoubling our own efforts, simply embrace what the Spirit is doing in us.” (The Message)

Not only do I long for a deeper experience of embracing what the Spirit is doing in me but also what He is doing in the lives of those around me and how I can be a part of their journey – not to fix them but to help awaken in them a deeper longing for God.

question mark orangeWhat is the biggest challenge for you in “tagging along” with the Spirit’s movement?

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2013. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment

Filed under Christianity, Friendship, God, Holy Spirit, Loving God, Loving others, Relationship with God, Religion and Spirituality

Leave a Reply

