The Right Place at the Right Time

In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day“Let me share one of my core convictions: God is in the business of strategically positioning us in the right place at the right time. A sense of destiny is our birthright as followers of Christ. God is awfully good at getting us where He wants us to go. But here’s the catch: The right place often seems like the wrong place, and the right time often seems like the wrong time…

Here’s the point: God is in the résumé-building business. He is always using past experiences to prepare us for future opportunities. But those God-given opportunities often come disguised as man-eating lions. And how we react when we encounter those lions will determine our destiny. We can cower in fear and run away from our greatest challenges. Or we can chase our God-ordained destiny by seizing the God-ordained opportunity.

As I look back on my own life, I recognize this simple truth: The greatest opportunities were the scariest lions. Part of me has wanted to play it safe, but I’ve learned that taking no risks is the greatest risk of all.”

~ Excerpted from In a Pit with a Lion on a Snowy Day by Mark Batterson

What is God up to and how does He want me to participate?

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2013. All rights reserved.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Adventure, Christianity, Faith, God, God's Will, Religion and Spirituality, Trusting God

4 responses to “The Right Place at the Right Time

  1. “The right place at the right time”…that would describe last Sunday. I went to the beach to relax and soak up some good Bible teaching (my plan), and ended up spending about half the time I had ministering to a bunch of drunk college students (God’s plan). It became apparent that one of them was suffering from alcohol poisoning…and her friends were going to leave her, face down in the sand, to “sleep it off.” Whew!

    She was taken away by ambulance. The others got a wake up call – were prayed over and ministered to. I’ll be praying for Camilla and her companions. I expect to see at least a couple of them in heaven! God is good.

    \o/

  2. Good post, Rick. I read that book – really good.

Leave a Reply

