My ongoing issue with Christmas cards

iLife Journey

I first posted this blog entry a year ago and it’s still one of the things that bugs me about how we celebrate Christmas and amazes me about God’s love for us!
***

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not a Scrooge about all things Christmas and I very much appreciate the sentiment behind sending Christmas cards. But I do have one particular issue with a certain type of card.

Why is Jesus’ birth often depicted with images that are neat and clean and even royal?

Jesus was born in a manger; i.e. – a place where animals were kept, likely a cave in the side of a hill. It was dirty, stinky and anything but royal. Certainly not how I would have made my entrance were I the King of Kings!

Why would God send Jesus into the world in such a lowly manner?

Consider the usual trappings of an…

View original post 89 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

