“We have as much of God as we actually want.”

This past Sunday I used a quote by A.W. Tozer to close out my message.

“Before we can be filled with the Spirit, the desire to be filled must be all-consuming. It must be for the time the biggest thing in the life, so acute, so intrusive as to crowd out everything else. The degree of fullness in any life accords perfectly with the intensity of true desire. We have as much of God as we actually want.” ~ A.W. Tozer

Desire really is the foundation of our relationship with God and the last line in the quote is so true – “We have as much of God as we actually want.” Here’s how I see it working in my life.

If life revolves around me and everything in life is going relatively OK at the moment, then I am easily satisfied with a rather small amount of God. At least, until my next crisis hits.

But if life revolves around God and others then I can’t help but be aware of all the heartache and struggle and loneliness that is a part of this world. That awareness overwhelms me because I am inadequate to do much about it. That in turn drives me toward God who is big enough to move and work in people’s lives. And as I pray for their needs I find in myself a greater desire for more of God.

Life is God’s grand adventure and He has so much more for us to participate in than what we realize. But He won’t force the issue. He won’t shove it down our throat. He is waiting for us to desire more of Him. And when we do, He will engulf us with His presence in a way that makes everything else in life seem small and insignificant.

I’ll be honest. I need to see life as less about me and more about God. Even after all these years of following Jesus I still spend way to much time and energy focused on me. But by the grace of God I keep plugging away. So let me ask you…

Does life revolve around you or God… and how much of God do you want?

9 Comments

Filed under Desire, Holy Spirit, intimacy with the Lord, Loving God

9 responses to ““We have as much of God as we actually want.”

  1. Leslie

    Wow, again perfect timing. Our sermon Sunday was about this me thing. It’s all about me. I’ve been really thinking about that, & this morning, especially, realized how often I make it all about me. Then, you put in this blog. Not only does it address that I need to stop making me the focus, but it also addresses how to do that. After all of these years of focusing on me, I definitely needed some insight of how to change my focus. Thank you!

  2. Debbie

    I agree with Leslie. It is so easy for it to be all about me instead of God and others. It seems no matter how hard I try, I still seem to be making it all about me. This was perfect timing for me as there is a lot going on in our community, our church and the whole country, with the tornadoes and so many people suffering. Thank you Rick for your always timely and always on target words!

  3. I personally think that our desire for God should be an all-or-nothing kind of thing. I don’t think we can simply have part of God in our lives as if God can be in part of our lives but not completely involved in our whole lives. I know that from personal experience and believe that God needs to be fully in every aspect of my life if my life is to be what God wants it to be.
    I like the response the apostles had in Acts to those who tried to worship the apostles for the miracles they were doing. The apostles did not want to be worshiped but pointed to God as the source of the miracles. I think it also goes to show a healthy fear of God.

    • I whole-heartedly agree Todd; but I know from personal experience that being totally surrendered and full of desire for God is not a constant thing but more like a roller coaster ride! Thank God for grace!

    • Hey Todd! After rereading my post I think I get what you meant by all-or-nothing. When I asked the question “How much of God do you want?” I didn’t mean it to sound like we were picking how much flavor we want in our soda; but intended to point out that the depth of our relationship with God depends on our desire to pursue Him. Sorry for the confusion!

  4. julie

    Yes!! This is what I was talking about when I said I loved your sermon. This quote was just the icing on the cake to an awesome sermon. To me this quote means we shouldnt go to God just when we “need” something. We should always go to God no matter what! Good or bad….

Leave a comment