Awe and Wonder

“And they were calling to one another: ‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.’” ~ Isaiah 6:3 (NIV)

stand in awe of GodWorship is humbling, but it is also delightful, invoking a sense of admiring awe and astonished wonder. Astonishment and wonder are always found in the presence of the Holy Spirit. The difficulty with this today is that everybody is sure of everything. The proud man cannot worship God any more than the proud devil can worship God.

Without mystery, there can be no worship. If I can understand God, then I cannot worship God. I will never get on my knees and say, “holy, holy, holy” to that which I can figure out. But the more I know of God, the less I understand about Him.

It is in the presence of the Holy Spirit that I begin to recognize what a sinful man I really am. The apostle Paul said, “Woe is me.” Isaiah the prophet cried, “Woe is me!” when he came into the presence of God. They were experiencing the mysterious wonder of that One who is incomprehensible.

~ From My Daily Pursuit by A.W. Tozer

Father God, fill us with a fresh sense of awe and wonder that we might worship you anew, amen!

***

© Richard Alvey and iLife Journey, 2013. All rights reserved.

7 Comments

Filed under A W Tozer, Christianity, God, Holy Spirit, Humility, Relationship with God, Religion and Spirituality, Wonder, Worship

7 responses to “Awe and Wonder

  1. Thanks for this reminder. We often come before God asking him to help us and provide for our daily needs. We often forget to just come to him in total awe of who he is and that we can walk daily with him.

  2. Great perspective on worship here. Yes, I think real worship is where we find ourselves on our knees, aware that we are so little and God is so big. It’s also an expression of faith in who He is and how much we desperately need Him, and the answers still to come. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Simply Pay Attention | New Heaven on Earth!

  4. Hi. Could you please remove the photo of my son from your post?

    You do not have permission to use this image of my son.

    Thanks

Leave a comment